

## RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE VERMONT 250TH ANNIVERSARY COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, Vermont Governor Phil Scott signed an executive order (No. 06-20)\* establishing the Vermont 250th Anniversary Commission on December 15, 2020, to plan, encourage, develop, coordinate, and promote observances and activities to be held in Vermont in commemoration of the historic events associated with the 250th anniversary of the 1776 signing of the Declaration of Independence, the Revolutionary War between 1775 and 1777, the founding of Vermont in 1777, and the creation of the political foundations of the United States of America;

**WHEREAS**, the Vermont 250th Anniversary Commission intends to engage all 252 cities and towns in Vermont through their many programs, projects, and events over the next several years, thereby inspiring future leaders and celebrating Vermonters' contributions to the nation over the last 250 years; and

**WHEREAS**, by supporting the Vermont 250th Anniversary Commission, the Town of Pomfret hopes to inspire Vermonters to learn from the history, legacy, and context of the past to build stronger communities for the future.

**RESOLVED**, the Town of Pomfret establishes the Vermont 250th Anniversary Committee of the Selectboard as the Town's liaison to the Vermont 250th Anniversary Commission, to coordinate with the Commission on such activities as the Committee deems appropriate, and to plan, encourage, develop, coordinate, and promote observances and activities to be held locally in commemoration of the historic events described above;

**RESOLVED**, that the initial Committee members shall be Benjamin Brickner, Alan Graham, Greg Hartford and Regina Lawrence, each of whom hereby is appointed for terms expiring March 31, 2028, or until such earlier date as the Committee may complete its work and be dissolved by the Selectboard; and

**RESOLVED**, that a copy of this resolution be sent to the Vermont 250th Anniversary Commission via email to SOV.Vermont250@vermont.gov.

[Remainder of page intentionally blank. Signature page follows.]

<sup>\*</sup>Vt. Exec. Order No. 06-20 (Dec. 15, 2020), available from https://governor.vermont.gov/sites/scott/files/documents/E0%20Creation%20of%20the%20250th%20Commission.FINAL%20kp.pdf/.

ADOPTED by the Selectboard this 7th day of February, 2024.
John Peters Jr., Chair
Benjamin Briokner, Vice-Chair
Meg Commons  Meg Emmons
Adue Chamledon Steve Chamberlin
Emily Grube