## POMFRET

## ANNUAL TOWN MEETING

## March 6, 2012

Moderator Robert J. O'Donnell called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. The Reverend Margaret Flad was asked to begin the meeting with a prayer.

- Robert J. O'Donnell was elected Moderator for a 1 year term. He was given the oath of office by the Town Clerk, Lynne A. Leavitt, and then reviewed the procedures and rules of order for the meeting. Robert O'Donnell looked to see if Fred Doten was still awake and he was.
- 2. Lynne A. Leavitt was elected Town Clerk for a 1 year term and given the oath of office by Robert O'Donnell.
- 3. Daphne Gratiot moved to accept the reports as submitted. William Emmons seconded. Orson St.John complimented the Selectboard and the Highway Department on their excellent job on getting the town back in order after Tropical Storm Irene came through. Douglas Tuthill commented on the amount the town borrowed and wanted to know if it is going to be sufficient to carry on with town business. Neil Lamson said all the paperwork has been turned over to the FEMA rep. and we have received the first reimbursement check. He said Hazel Harrington secured a loan for the town with an interest rate of .65%. James Potter, Road Commissioner, thanked everyone for their support. The motion to accept the reports as submitted passed by voice vote.
- 4. The following officers were elected:

Selectboard	3 year term	Mark C. Warner	90 votes
		Douglas J. Tuthill	37 votes
Treasurer	1 year term	Hazel B. Harrington	Unopposed
Collector of Delinquent Taxes	1 year term	Jay L. Potter	Unopposed
Cemetery Commissioner	3 year term	Ona J. Chase	Unopposed
Lister	3 year term	Laura L. Kent	Unopposed
Auditor	3 year term	Carlene M. Hewitt	Unopposed
Grand Juror	1 year term	Michael S. Reese	Unopposed
Town Agent	1 year term	Michael S. Reese	Unopposed
Library Trustee	3 year term	Jennifer C. Satterfield	Unopposed
Library Trustee	3 year term	Betsy A. Siebeck	Unopposed
Trustee of Public Funds	3 year term	Keith Blake	Unopposed

Robert J. O'Donnell thanked Robert Harrington for his 12 years on the Selectboard.

Note: While the ballots were being counted Loredo Sola gave an update on EC Fiber. There will be a meeting at the Pomfret School on April 12, 2012 @ 7:00 P.M. to provide information about investments to extend the network into Pomfret.

- 5. Anne Bower moved that the Town appropriate \$35,562 for the Abbott Memorial Library. Joanna Long seconded. Jennifer Satterfield thanked the Library staff and board members for their hard work and support of the Library. She said they had a wonderful year. Anne Bower said they have a website and please check it out. She said there is a survey on the back table about the replacing the roof tiles. Joanna Long said the Library is a warm, beautiful and likeable place and it deserves our support. She also stated you can download an ebook from your home. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.
- 6. Daphne Gratiot moved that the Town appropriate the sum of \$3,950 to support the home care and hospice care of patients in their homes by staff and volunteers of the Visiting Nurse Alliance of Vermont and New Hampshire, Inc. Marjorie Wakefield seconded. Daphne Gratiot said they are terrific people, they help in multiple ways and they deserve our support. She also stated that may people in this room have used their services, please support them. The motion passed by voice vote.
- 7. Anne Bower moved that the Town appropriate the sum of \$1,500 to support programming of the Ottauquechee Community Partnership which includes the Spectrum Teen Center and the Shining Light Mentoring program. Mark Warner seconded. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.
- 8. Deanne Jones moved that the Town appropriate the sum of \$1,500 for the Woodstock Area Council on aging to run the Edwin J. Thompson Senior Center. Fred Doten seconded. Deanna Jones, Executive Director, thanked the Town for their support. She explained their services, such as home delivered meals, Monday through Friday and weekends, driving people to medical appointments and to the center 4 days a week. If anyone has questions or would like to use their services please call her. The motion passed by voice vote.
- 9. Kevin Geiger moved that the Town authorize the Selectboard to spend unanticipated funds such as grants and gifts. Kevin Rice seconded. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

- 10. Robert Merrill moved that the voters authorize the Selectboard to borrow money, if necessary, for the payment of current expenses of the Town pending receipts of payment of taxes. Mark Warner seconded. Neil Lamson said we had to do this last year. Douglas Tuthill said he would like the Selectboard to hold a special meeting if they needed to borrow money again. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.
- 11. Stephen Brown moved that the Town vote the budget of \$1,671,521 for town and highway expenses as shown in the town report. Orson St. John seconded. There was a lengthy discussion on the budget. Robert Harrington explained some of the factors that goes into the budget, such as trucks, equipment, paving, culverts, current use allocation, Tropical Storm Irene damage, etc. Kevin Lessard said the town employees are now paying 5% of their health insurance. Anthony Thacher complimented the Selectboard on planning ahead with the budget. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.
- 12. Hazel Harrington moved that the Town raise \$886,957 in taxes. Mark Warner seconded. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.
- 13. Ona Chase moved that the Town collect taxes in two installments, on August 6th, 2012 and November 5th, 2012. Late payments will be subject to interest of 1% per calendar month or part thereof. All taxes outstanding on November 6<sup>th</sup>, 2012 will be delinquent and subject to a penalty of 8% for the Town. JoAnn Webb seconded. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.
- 14. To do any other proper and necessary business.

Elaine Chase reviewed the events held last year for the 250<sup>th</sup> year celebration of the Town. Kevin Rice asked the members of the Emergency Services to stand and be recognized for their hard work. He said they have a lot of volunteers, but need more.

There was a long discussion about Tropical Storm Irene and how the Highway Department, Emergency Services, Selectboard and all the volunteers responded to the citizens of Pomfret. The Town is looking into what we have learned and what improvements we should make to be prepared in case of another disaster.

Representative Teo Zagar was appointed by Governor Shumlin to fill Mark Mitchell's seat. He is a member of the House Agriculture Committee, the Working Families Caucus and the Arts Caucus. The most important topic was education spending and how it is calculated. The other issues discussed were School choice, Act 250 and Vermont Yankee.

William Emmons thanked the Town for their support of his mother, Elizabeth Emmons. William Emmons thanked Robert O'Donnell for his time and work on the Planning Commission and as Town Moderator. He also said the Planning Commission is looking for 1 more member and if any one is interested please call.

William Emmons moved to adjourn and Marjorie Wakefield seconded. The meeting adjourned at 11:50A.M.

Several new officers were sworn to their duties by Lynne A. Leavitt.

Lunch was served by the Lamson Family to benefit the 4H Group.

Respectfully submitted,

Lynne A. Leavitt, Town Clerk

Minutes approved by:

Date:

NOTE: A full recording of the Town Meeting minutes are available on our website @ www.pomfretvt.us